Heat at night & humidity all the time

Mein30

Location (City and/or State)
Omaha, NE
Hello! I'm new to tortoise keeping and am struggling with head and humidity.

I have a redfoot tortoise, only 3-4 months old. He has a 4'×2'×2' enclosure with an acrylic pane covering about 75% of the top of the enclosure. The (ambient) temperature during the day stays at 85° F. There's UVB light that stretches across the entirety of the enclosure and he has a basking light. What I'm struggling with is keeping that temperature at night. I purchased a 100W ceramic heat emitter hooked up to a thermostat but even that doesn't seem to keep it above 75. His substrate is topsoil, coconut husks, and sphagnum moss. Currently there isn't a drainage layer, I am planning to incorporate that in next cleaning. In the meantime I mist the cage 1 - 3 times a day. Maybe my humidity measure is incorrect but it only stays around 60%. Any ideas on how to keep him warm and comfortable?

The picture of the enclosure was before I had the UVB and heat emitter, heat lamp is 1ft away from the substrate.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230922-192539-159.png
    Screenshot_20230922-192539-159.png
    525.5 KB · Views: 4
  • Snapchat-82826425.jpg
    Snapchat-82826425.jpg
    554.1 KB · Views: 4

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
You want to first get rid of the moss. It's dangerous to the inside and limbs.
If you can't keep temps up with one ceramic heat emitter then use two. In the winter I always had to use at least two sometimes 3 depending on which enclosure it was
@ZEROPILOT can help better with what the temps should be.

Mein30

Omaha, NE
You want to first get rid of the moss. It's dangerous to the inside and limbs.
If you can't keep temps up with one ceramic heat emitter then use two. In the winter I always had to use at least two sometimes 3 depending on which enclosure it was
@ZEROPILOT can help better with what the temps should be.