Handling a Snapper???

Nikolai13

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio
I have a snapping turtle who's a little guy, he's about 5 inches, i rescued him as a baby, him and his family were being laid when a hungry hillbilly killed her, he called me and told me that she laid an egg, i took care of the egg until baby snapper hatched, he was very un-social and wouldn't even try to bite me, he also shouldn't eat with me in the room, now he's bigger and eats in the room, now i think he'll try to bite, sooooo... How do i handle him without the tail or legs without getting bit, thank you

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have no experience. All I can tell you is what I have seen people do. I have seen them hold them by their tail. I also have seen them hold them from their shell, right behind the head and right above, but just before the tail. The ways I have mentioned have been with very large ones.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I know that the Turtle Man holds them up either by the tail or by pinching your fingers in on either side of the plastron, but in my opinion, neither of those ways is good for the turtle. You may break or sprain the spine holding by the tail (depending upon how heavy the turtle is), and it probably hurts the turtle having your fingers pinching up inside his soft tissue around the plastron.

A snapping turtle has a very long neck and can reach around quite far if he's inclined to bite you, but the best way to pick them up is by holding on either side of the carapace right in front of the back legs. But be careful of the back claws reaching up and digging at you.

Since you're probably only going to handle him when you clean the tank, why don't you just get a fishing net (the kind that fishermen use to boat their catch) and catch him up in the net.

diamondbp

10 Year Member!