Halting Pyramiding

Seth Tyler

Hey guys,

So I'm slowly but surely figuring out how to best care for my now 1 year old tortoise. I've increased his containment to a 50 gal enclosure. I've noticed that he has attained decent pyramiding in the last few months (he's also grown double his size in around 3-4 months). The pyramiding doesn't look severe, and I'm not super worried about it. I soak him once a week, and have been reading that now that he has started pyramiding you can only stop the process not reverse it. I'm glad I can stop the issue at hand, but I need some tips and suggestions as to what I need to do to help my little guy.

He is in a 50 gallon enclosure, Exo-terra glass sides with open vents out the top. I have 1/2 of the top closed off by glass coverings and the other half has the UVB and day and night heat lamps. He has a heat pad as well as a little hide log that is open on both ends. I have orchid bark from zoo med that I have been using for around 5 months now, (after I discovered sand is a terrible substrate for them). What exactly should I do to lower his pyramid with this situation? Let me know any tips you may have for me!

Things I've had in mind so far:

soak him more often (don't know a good duration of time per soak though)
enclose the other half of the enclosure (Don't know where to place lighting if I do this)
change his log hideout to something more enclosed
spray the substrate to up the humidity (not sure how often or if I should do it only in his hideout or entire enclosure)

He has plenty of clean drinking water which he uses for the occasional soak as well, I feed him Mazuri pellets and collard greens. maybe a slight change in diet may help as well.

Regardless, any tips you may have for me would be of great help, let me know guys, be my tortoise's and my savior!

-Seth

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA