Greek wheezing, bubble eye

Status
Not open for further replies.

reptilematt

5 Year Member
Hi everyone,

I found these forums tonight after researching some information on tortoise health and community forums.

I have 2 tortoises. 1 Greek of some kind (maybe Syrian or Ibera) and one mean and hardy Russian.

The Greek has always given me some problems in terms of health since I acquired her in 2003 from a PETCO that had her in horrible condition. I fed her, kept her under heat and got her moving. Mind you I'm a college student, and she's been under the care of my mother for roughly 4 years since I was in school. I just recently brought them home to my apartment, as I'm finishing graduate school and they were rocking the summer fine, but just yesterday she started with the wheeze and eye bubble. I've seen the eye bubble before but after some extra care, she usually gets over that. The slight high pitch wheezing is what I want to remedy and has me worried the most.

I know for certain that it hit 60F in her enclosure Friday night because my thermometer showed it in the history. Usually it's 75-80F at the coldest but the day of, it was 60F ambient and I figured I could turn off the heat emitters but FORGOT to turn them back on. Maybe a cold bug hit her?

I bought some Fluckers First-Aid to feed her tomorrow, but I think maybe some medicine would do better. I'd love to take her to a vet, but I won't be able to put up with a $200 bill just for a visit and without medication included. She's eating well, always by the food dish in the morning, and I give them both 20 minute soaks. As you can see in the pictures heating and lighting should hopefully not be the issue.