Friday Surprise! (and an introduction)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ben awes

5 Year Member
Hey all. My name is Ben Awes and I am a small breeder of P. Pardalis Leopards up here in icy Minnesota! I call myself Chubs Leopards. I am relatively new to TF and I though I would introduce myself. I have been raising my leopards for 10 years and am just into my fourth year of hatching babies from my breeding pair. My female is 10 years old, 30 pounds, my male 7 and 23 pounds. My female lays all her eggs indoors. I got my female from Jeff Price back in '03, and my male from Richard Fife. I only hatch 7-13 eggs a year at this point, but I love each and every one!

Just for fun I thought I would share what happened this morning. I finally decided to go and dispose of most of the unhatched eggs from last year. I am very reluctant to throw eggs away, but they do go bad! My last hatch was nearly 3 months ago and so I was pretty convinced that I was done for the year. Typically I check the incubator every day, but I've been a little slack since I have had no activity in the past 3 months. I opened the incubator this morning and KABAM - one last little guy sitting there in the middle. I have no idea when he hatched! His yoke sac was pretty fully absorbed, so he could have been there for a couple/few days! (hopefully not longer!) Anyway, he/she seems healthy, active - all good. BUT - check her out! Really unique pattern, very small dots, very pale color. Never had one like her before. I'm pretty excited about her. Would love to hear from you.

Thanks All,
Ben

Friday Surprise 1.JPG
Friday Surprise 2.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA