Foaming mouth

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
So, I checked on my stars today and saw that my female had faom coming out of her mouth. I have never seen this in any of my animals. I examined her and noticed her eyes are clear, nose is not runny, she's been quite active the past couple of days, and today in particular she has pooped more than normal.

I really don't think she is sick, I'm thinking it might have something to do with the weather, as we are in the mid 90's this week and dry as a bone. I placed her in some water, she didn't drink any but she usually doesn't. Other than that the only difference in the care I've provided to her is I added a bunch of cypress mulch in her enclosure. But, for some reason I think it is related to her hydration. I am calling my vet to see what he thinks, but I wanted to get your input as well.

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Cadillac, Michigan
I am not experienced with Stars, but I know that when a Sulcata gets too dry their eyes water and bubble at the corners. I have seen this with Box turtles and Hingebacks too.

It very well could be hydration. Let us know what the vet tells you.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
I talked to my vet's assistant and she thought it was a sign of a heat stroke. I took my thermometer outside and it read 95 degrees in direct sunlight and 85 degrees in the shade spot where I found her. As I mentioned she has been very active, and possibley ended up in the sun for too long. The foaming has stopped and she remains active, I'll keep her inside for the rest of the day and make another hide for them.

She's inside and eating, so hopefully we avoided a bad situation. I'll continue to monitor her. I took a couple of pictures of her eating and am posting it under the pictures section. I would conclude with the 95 degree heat and black shell she was overheated.

reptylefreek

5 Year Member
Seatac, Washington