My Baby Spur Thighed Beak, Is it abnormal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marbels and Pebbles

5 Year Member
Hey, I am new to Tortoises, I have had my two baby Spur Thighed for about three months now. I have been thinking for a while now that Pebbles the smallest has been looking different compared to when i first had her, She seems to occasionally sit with her mouth open? Marbels never has her mouth open. Today I noticed that Pebble's beak is very rounded? im not sure if this is normal? I looked back at photos a took when i first had her and her beak was pointy and when her mouth was closed would hang over bottom lip.
Im not very good at explaining things like this so im going to put up three pictures. One of before in the garden and two of her today, although she did not want her Picture taken today, so they are not the best photos in the wolrd.

She is one year old
Lives in a Tortoise table
Has a UVB bulb at 37 degrees
She eats mainly weeds but sometimes i cant resist giving her lettuce.
I have weighed her she is over weight by 20gramms
Very lively
Gets loads of exercise inside and goes outside when its hot enough.
I give them Cuttle fish for calcium

Thanks for reading, and will appreciate all comments :)

Attachments

• today.JPG
    today.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 79
  • today (1).JPG
    today (1).JPG
    1 MB · Views: 87
  • today (2).JPG
    today (2).JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 62

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Marbels and Pebbles:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

The tortoise beak is supposed to have a nice, sharp edge to it similar to a bird's beak, so that he can bite off bits of plants and weeds.