First tortoise! Excitement!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flakattack

5 Year Member
Hey everybody! I've just bought my first tortoise, and he's a little leopard hatchling. I've heard they're difficult to keep alive for those who've never had any before, but I spent 3 hours searching for good hatchling guides online. i've got a long, almost tupperware container for him, and two interchamgable lights. One for the sunlight/ heat during the day and a red-toned light for night. I got a bag of substrate from Petsmart and some Sorghum moss for the heated end. For the calcium, a lady I talked to with tortoises of her own suggested using tums. He's got bits of romaine to much on until I get home and am able to get everythibg set up. I used rabbit/guinea pig food with timothy hay and alfalfa listed as the first two ingredients and 13% protein, which is the lowest I could find.

Anyways! I don't really know what to do with these things. I'm a college student who finally has the finances for a tortoise. I don't know my darling's gender, but it'll be named Reginald. :D any suggestions/improvements on how to keep him alive and well? I don't want any tragedies later on.
tumblr_lmfqk4KgaQ1qzdfrfo1_1280.jpg

TortieLuver

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Welcome to the forum! What is your name? Do you happen to have pictures of your setup? Leos are so enjoyable to have and with the proper setup, diet and care, they will be just fine as with any other tortoise hatchling.

Sky2Mina

10 Year Member!
Bangkok
Welcome to the Forum! You'll find tons of helpful advice here (not from me though :D I'm a beginner as well).
Your tortoise is adorable, what is its name??

DocNezzy

5 Year Member
First off, Welcome and glad to have you! You have come to the right place for info on your new addition. Now...