First Time Tortoise Lover

Status
Not open for further replies.

stingraerae

5 Year Member
Hey Everyone!

I just got my first tortoise yesterday and am very excited to join the world of Russian owners. She (Not yet named, we're waiting to get to know her a bit better :)) is one year old and seems to be quite healthy. She hasn't eaten much, only a bit of banana and leafy greens, but from what I've read that is normal considering the stress levels one would expect from making such a big move.

I've posted pictures of her and her enclosure, and I was hoping you all could give me some advice on things I could do to improve her life since I'm very new to this business. Sorry for the picture's bad quality, the 100 watt warming bulb messed with the lighting a bit. If you can't tell, under the light is a flat rock she enjoys sitting on. On the other side of the 50 gallon Rubbermaid container is an old wooden clementine box for shade that she is currently sleeping under, and a water dish that she hasn't yet drunken out of.

The under the mulch there is sand, which I've gotten mixed reviews on. Petsmart said it was dangerous as the Russian could eat it easier, but many websites praise it as a preferred turf for Russians. On top of her shady box are a tiger, R2D2, and a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle, to keep her company :tort:

Please reply with suggestions on how I can make this transition from her small Petsmart tank to this enclosure and new home as easy as possible! Thank you :)

-- Sophie McHugh, Georgia Resident

Attachments

• enclosure.jpg
    enclosure.jpg
    291.9 KB · Views: 28
  • russian.jpg
    russian.jpg
    374.3 KB · Views: 29

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...