First time Greek Enclosure builder would love some input.

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

GreekTortoiseGuy

Hey everyone. Im new to hobby. I would love some input on the enclosure i built. I stained and sealed the entire enclosure. It is 2 feet wide and 4 feet long. I built a nice little box house for him with a heat pad inside. The wood is lined with thin plexi glass on the bottom. Tell me what you thing everyone. Thank youTort encl 1.jpgtort encl 2.jpgtort encl 3.jpgtort encl 4.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
RE: First time Enclosure builder would love some input.

Hi GreekTortoiseGuy:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name?

What kind of substrate is that?

G

GreekTortoiseGuy

Hi...my name is Stavros. That is alfalfa pellets. I was thinking of some other kind. Any suggestions? This substrate is a bit smelly. I live in an apartment so....you know.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

Hi Stavros:

I don't keep Greek tortoises, so I can't really say what kind of substrate for you to use. I know from reading here on the forum that some keep their Greeks on aspen bedding.

We're kind of getting away from using the alfalfa pellets.

Do you have a water dish in there?

I like your habitat. You've gone to a lot of trouble to make it nice for the tortoise.

What kind of light are you using? Does the tortoise get any outside time?

wrmitchell22

5 Year Member
Southeast Arizona
I really like the enclosure it looks nice, I don't know about greeks, but I use Cypress mulch for my Sulcata :) Welcome to the forum!

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State