Fiberglass carapace repair

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kingman, Arizona
So this is mainly to get the conversation started. Is fiberglass a good option for the repair of a tortoise carapace? I've seen plenty of repair jobs done with fiberglass, but that resin seems toxic to me. Input folks?

M

Maggie Cummings

No, you mostly don't want to close up a carapace wound as there's a big chance you'll close in bacteria and that will be bad...So when the wound is fresh you treat and wrap with sterile gauze to hold it together...Then later when there's not chance of bacteria, you use dental cement and glue....

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
Thanks Maggie. With the living nature of the carapace, it just seems long term if not short term it couldn't be good for them. I've no direct experience either way.

Len B

10 Year Member!
Southern Md - Northern Neck Va
There was a time, (not to many years ago), that fiberglass resin, along with fiberglass mat was the go to fix for many shell injuries, especially if some of the shell was missing. Today you can probably make a repair patch with a 3D printer. One problem using fiberglass is that it doesn't grow along with the rest of the shell. But if applied correctly it will last forever. I personally have had experience with only one (long term) tortoise that was saved using fiberglass.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
See, that was my thinking. The carapace continues to grow, while a fiberglass patch doesn't.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA