Ernie.

bethxyz

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania, USA
Thought you might like to meet our replacement tortoise, Ernie. As you might recall our previously short lived hatchling had a battle with worms that could not be won. So while I'm still learning all I can, it is amazing to notice all the differences between hatchling one and hatchline two. (from the same clutch I think!) The first one was very bold and adventurous compared to this new guy who is very skiddish and reclusive. However the first one never ate, this hungry hippo ate more in the first five minutes of being in the enclosure than the first one did in 20 days! Also the way they move their back legs if very different and this one is much less domed, but is rounded on the caprice. Makes me appreciate how different they all are. And honestly made me really sad all over again for the first one... he really was a beautiful tortoise, I really wish he would have worked out :(

We added some fake foliage to our enclosure since this little guy is so nervous so he has more hiding spots. And he arrived safe and warm during below zero temps! We're already looking forward to spring and warm weather and fresh clover!

132_zpswxraw1gv.jpg

144_zpse5bocuk2.jpg

142_zpsp7qhbbol.jpg

141_zpsrrbnlktu.jpg

138_zpsr0pftx24.jpg

We'll look forward to this guy being healthy and long lived!
He's happy and in a nicely hot and humid space so he can grow well.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It worries me that a couple of pictures show him with his eyes closed. This isn't normal. When you pick them up the eyes should be open and bright.

Be sure to soak him in warm water daily. He's very pretty and I look forward to following him here on the Forum as he grows.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA