EMERGENCY!!! (ear abscess)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vanessa

5 Year Member
Ok my Adult ornate box turtle has a bump on its head where I imagine the ear would be. I don't know what to do I can't go to the vet not enough money! Is there any home treatments?
INFO- female
-Outdoor habitat
- adult
- ornate box turtle

ImageUploadedByTortForum1375298098.311174.jpg it has a red tip

Last edited by a moderator:

alysciaingram

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
EMERGENCY!!!

First things first, you're going to need a picture for anyone to say what they think it is. Second, a bump on the ear could be an ear abscess. I'm not an expert, so I'll wait for the others to chime in, but it is most likely going to need veterinary care. Search around for vet clinics that do payment plan options or have a pet credit card. I had a dog who was hit by a car and needed extensive surgery to repair his broken limb. The card was like a normal credit card, but made it so we were able to afford his care.

Good luck.

vanessa

5 Year Member
EMERGENCY!!!

ImageUploadedByTortForum1375298156.572954.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
RE: EMERGENCY!!!

I can't help much. Just keep it clean until someone that can help comes on. Yvonne, Jacqui or tortadise are three that should be able to help. There's others too, I just can't think of them off hand.

alysciaingram

5 Year Member
Florida
EMERGENCY!!!

That looks like an ear abscess to me, and if it is, it needs to be lanced and drained by a vet, and the turtle needs to be put on antibiotics to prevent infection at the lance site.

vanessa

5 Year Member
EMERGENCY!! IT MIGHT BE LIFE OR DEATH PLEASE HELP