Does anyone use a Desert Flo Bulb?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NudistApple

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pittsburgh, PA
I am planning to modify a 6' bookcase into an enclosure for Al'tuin over the next few months (not that I need to, I just want to!) and it has pretty short sides, just over 12" tall.

I feel like that is just way too short to safely use a MVB, so I'm planning to stagger some CHEs and just use a 48" light fixture for the UVB. The fixture I like best is a T5, much slimmer than the standard T8, and pretty much the only bulb I've found that is 48" and a T5 is the Desert Flo Bulb.

This one here; http://buddysbuddies.com/small-animal/reptile-flourescent-bulbs/desert-flo-bulb-28w-48-t5.html

I'm having trouble finding much information about it. Do any of you know if this is a good bulb, or do you have experience with it?

Thanks in advance!

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I have no experience with this particular grade light...all of the desert torts here are well, out in the desert in their yards....lol...so I have not had a need for indoor lighting for them...and it is a bit strong for the Redfoot torts....so my post will bump your thread back to the front of the line and perhaps someone will be able to offer you their personal experience...

In my opinion, this is a better bulb for an indoor confined controlled environment that some of the all in ones....especially since you have described the way you want to apply its use with the other heat sources....good stuff....

StudentoftheReptile

5 Year Member
Alabama
Do not use the t-5 desert bulb from Zilla. They are too bright and WILL cause blindness in your tortoises. I have personally used this bulb and can attest to what it does to young torts.

Len B

10 Year Member!
Southern Md - Northern Neck Va