Complete Newbie Needs Info

Status
Not open for further replies.

w0554096

5 Year Member
Hello all,
I'm am completely new in the tortoise world, however I have owned Bearded Dragons for quite a few years, and if there's one thing I've learned, it's to trust a forum for know-how over a pet store.
SO, I'm looking to find out everything I need to know about a Red Footed tortoise.

I'm currently building a triple stacked unit for my two beardies, and the tortoise (haven't gotten him/her yet) will be on the bottom.

I know that their set up is similar to a beardies, with the exception to humidity.
We're building a drainable pool in the corner, and the UVB and heat fixtures are mouted inside of the enclosures.

I only use ReptiSUN 10.0 for my dragons, and was wondering if this model is also best for tortoises.
Also, what temps should their basking spot reach to?
What should their humidity sit around, will I need a humidity gage? Are they prone to URIs if their humidity is too high?
How much of their diet is protein and exactly what kind of protein?
Do they get supplimentation for calcium and vitamins? How often?
What is the best/safest/easily maintainable substrates?
Do hatchlings require different temperatures/humidity/diet/substrates than older tortoises?

I know that's alot of questions, but I really want to get this right from the get-go.
Thanks for your help everyone!

RedfootsRule

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Miami, Florida
w0554096 said:
Hello all,
I'm am completely new in the tortoise world, however I have owned Bearded Dragons for quite a few years, and if there's one thing I've learned, it's to trust a forum for know-how over a pet store.
SO, I'm looking to find out everything I need to know about a Red Footed tortoise.

I'm currently building a triple stacked unit for my two beardies, and the tortoise (haven't gotten him/her yet) will be on the bottom.

I know that their set up is similar to a beardies, with the exception to humidity.