Cold sulcata!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fanofthedog

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Im new. Its been 5 days with our new 75+ lb tortoise. He moved here and had an igloo home and heating pad but he hasnt slept in there yet. He sleeps outside under a bush. Today its overcast and so he isnt coming out. What should I do? Its got to be too cold for him- although I live in teh San Fernando Valley (Los Angeles) so maybe its not that cold?

Should my husband and I pick up the tortoise and put him in his house?

Thanks
Karen

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
First off how cold will it get tonight? Is tomorrow going to be back to a nice warm day? Has he already been in his new home and on the mat, so he knows it's there? I know you said he has not yet slept there, but has he been in there at all?

WillTort2

5 Year Member
Looks like the low is calling for 55 with 20 chance of rain.

I'm not an expert. But the safe call might be to put the tort in the igloo home in the late afternoon with the heat pad on and see which he likes the best. He may not know the the igloo has heat.

Good luck.

Lancecham

10 Year Member!
Southern California
If he hasn't been in his home yet, it may be a good idea to put him in there. He should realize it is warm in there.
When I get new tortoises that live outside, I will place them in their sleeping enclosure. Usually that is all it takes and they will use it nightly.

Tortuga505

5 Year Member
New Mexico
I would take him to the house, that way he can get used to it. In a couple of days he will prefer where it's warmer.

fanofthedog

5 Year Member
Thanks everyone for your help. We picked him up (not an easy task!) and now he is in his house with the warm pad on. It really is cold here- by LA standards and I feel much more relieved.