Care Opinions for my Greek

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beastley

5 Year Member
Hello, I have a 3 y.o. Greek male named Sam. Sam is about 6/7 inches big.

Anyway, I'm wondering if I am harming him, or setting myself up for a future disaster.

Here's how I take care of him:
He is housed in a home made cage made of wood that is 4'Lx 2 1/2' Wide x at least 18" tall.

I use a coil style UVB Light, and a CHE. He gets at least 12 hours a day of light. And the CHE is always on (we have a drafty house). The temp under the CHE usually is @ around 92 degrees, and the rest of the cage is around 80 or so.

His substrate is a 80/20 soil play sand mix.

He eats (a lot) everyday, poops regularly, is very active everyday.

This is where I have questions:

I do not mist him or soak him at all. He always has fresh water, and his water dish is open and large enough to soak himself in and drink from.

I have been doing this for about 10 months now. I was soaking him, but he had a URI when I got him, and he didn't get rid of it until I stopped soaking him.

My theory is that he will soak if he needs to.

Like I said before he is VERY active and seems very healthy. His shell does look a little dry at times, but others not.

So do you think I need to change my ways, or keep doing what I've been doing?

ChiKat

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
FL
The first thing I would recommend is getting rid of the coil bulb. They have been known to cause eye problems (and even blindness) in tortoises.
What do you feed him?

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State