Can I keep her inside all day?

Panedora

Hi im new to tortoise so i need some advice asap.. we are having a new roof put on this week and the roofers are scraping off the old one. it had been windy and most if our old roof went in our back yard (despite renting them the largest dumpster they sell) I have been working all morning but there are nails and shingles and isolation stuff everywhere. I have never kept her inside all day, she always goes out she loves it (and her pool is out there). What should i do should i let her out and try and stay with her or is it ok to keep her inside all day long? i know she will make a mess prolly but i rather her make a mess that get a nail in her somewhere. oh and she eats on grass all day too so would she be ok just feeding her some greens inside?

Panedora

she wont drink for a dish should i soak her in tub sometime today so she can have water?

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
I agree keep her inside until you have the yard cleaned up. Even once you think it's clean, I bet your going to keep finding bits here and there. Sulcatas are especially good at eating things they shouldn't, so keep trying to find everything. Then also, once she is back out, be sure to keep her well hydrated and eating. That way if she does find some part of the roofing problem to eat, it will have a better/easier time of passing straight on through.

Panedora

She seems to be particularly lazy today (very cold) she has not even gone to the door to want to go outside so maybe she wont mind being stuck inside with me. i gave her a bunch of greens and a carrot with calcium but she not hungry yet. she seems fine, just lazy lol

Panedora

another question when she is outside she walks about all day. but staying inside all day she barley moved and slept all day didnt want to eat or anything is that normal?