Buried herman

ElaineAkehurst

Location (City and/or State)
West Sussex
Hi
This is my first time here. I am the caretaker of an old Herman’s tortoise called Dan. He’s been in our family for around 20 years rescued from an old couple who died. He was the oldest of the colony they had an the vet told us he had reached his maximum weight and length so estimated then that he was at least 40 so likes to be over 60. He had been living with my mother in law for a few years who let him hibernate naturally in her garden each year and he has been fine. He is strong and healthy. We have a big garden with lots of shrubs weeds and rocks and he has been happily exploring and living outside. He stopped eating about a month ago. I have been bathing him regularly which he enjoyed! He has dug down in the same spot 3 times I got him out twice as it’s still warm and the hibernation box I prepared is not yet cool enough in our brick garage and he wanted to get out when I put him in! I have left him buried as he was so determined but plan on digging him up once the temperatures drop and put him in his hibernation box as last years wonder temperatures were so cold I am afraid he wouldn’t survive natural hibernation. Can I ask if this would be the best course of action, is it safe to disturb him? When we had him 20 years ago he went in his box beginning of October happily and woke beginning of March every year for several years

katieandiggy

5 Year Member
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Hi Elaine, I think our constantly fluctuating temperature are really not helping this year! I mean we are almost mid October when quite a few tortoises would be starting to hibernate and we are in the middle of a mini heatwave!
@JoesMum will be able to help you with hibernation in the U.K.

Miscally

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club