Beefing up Baloo

Lunaqua

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia
Hi Everyone!
I’m a new Sulcata owner. I recently acquired a young Sulcata posted as “free” on Facebook. Not the best place to get a pet, I know, but as my friend put it, better than someone who knows nothing picking up this free tortoise. My 3 year old son, who ADORES turtles, helped me name him/her “Baloo”.
Without going into specific details, I have some prior experience with Sulcatas and multiple exotic species in general. I was given a deformed Sulcata hatchling some years ago, but unfortunately the defect prevented the little one from growing and thriving properly and I euthanized him/her (I called her “Lucy” [emoji175]).
I have some concerns with Baloo’s shell and would like some feedback on my husbandry. Here are all the long, gory details. I apologize for the long read.
Baloo was in rough shape when I got him. He came with his enclosure - a 20 gallon long aquarium with screen top, food dish, tiny water bowl spray bottle, 60W CHE, 160W Mercury Vapor Bulb, and coir bedding. His food came along too. Timothy and Orchard grass hay, Mazuri and Repti-Cal tortoise pellets and there were some sort of greens dried up in his food dish. He also came with Repti-Calcium Powder. He was TINY at 150 grams (7 months old!) and VERY dehydrated (not surprising). The coir in his enclosure was powder dry and when rehydrated, had such a strong ammonia smell that I threw it all out. I gave him a warm soak as soon as I got him home and he drank and drank. Poor thing!