Are my tortoises hibernating?

Mande Moran

Do tortoises hibernate on their own? I'm new to having them. I have them in my classroom and since the cold (I live in Iowa) they have been sleeping a lot more and cut down on their eating. I just want to make sure this is normal. They stay under their log and sleep. I have a florescent lamp and a heat lamp on opposite sides of the tank. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Mande:

If it's warm then cold, then warm in your classroom, it's not a good environment for a tortoise to hibernate. They need a steady cold between 40 and 45F degrees to successfully sleep. Read the response Tom made in this hibernation thread:

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/tortoise-hibernation.133005/

You don't necessarily have to use a fridge, but they need to stay cold.

Mande Moran

Thank you for your response! Let me clarify. They are inside all day long in a controlled environment of 70 degrees in my classroom. Everything was normal with them until the season changed from fall to winter. Now they sit inside their log all day long and don't move around like they used to and are not eating much. They have a heated lamp and a florescent lamp in their enclosure. As I said before I'm new to this. Any help would be appreciated! I'm just wondering if they are hibernating on their own or is something wrong with them.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Mande:

If a tortoise can't warm up his inner core to at least 80F (85f is better), then he can't digest his food, and so he won't eat. What temperature is the floor of the habitat, all over the whole floor, not just under the light?