Another temp question please..

Status
Not open for further replies.

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California, central coast
My question is should I get a basking light? I have a 150watt CHE and a 100 uvb powersun. I can't seem to get the basking area hot enough. It ranges from 90-100. Is that temp too low for my 1yr sulcata? And if I don't get a basking bulb how low can I drop my CHE without burning my baby? Can I just use my CHE as a basking bulb? I'm a newbie keeper and my head is hurting from this temp stuff. I'm trying to get it just right for my tort. My enclosure is 2ft wide and 4ft long....please any thoughts will be appreciated.

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
WI
How high up are the bulbs? What angle are they pointed at? A pic might help alot here. You have enough wattage for the right basking temp, but somewhere along the line you're losing heat.

Your sully needs UVB. Don't take it off of him. If you have it, use it. Please post a pic. :) That will help me here!

Sounds like you are a good tort mommy. Worry for your baby means you love him. :D

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
The Che is in the corner (hot side) pointing straight down, about 12 inches measured from the top of his shell. My UVB powersun is next to it along the long side (makes warm middle) about 14 inches about the shell, straight down angle. Right now he's looking very perking under the CHE. He's working on corner pushing and digging moss and dirt for a nap. My daughter has the camera phone so I can't get a picture. I bought one of those temp readers at Petco (takes forever to get a temp) and I'm thinking maybe I need a better one? Oh he's napping now under the CHE, normal?

Livingstone

10 Year Member!
Richmond, Va
Use the CHE for night time to keep the temp up where the tort sleeps. Use an MVB (mercury vapor bulb) during the day, 13 inches from the substrate.

I use 1 100w Zoomed mercury vapor bulb on a 4ftx4ft enclosure over the middle.