? about barrier under enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

paschallraschalls

5 Year Member
Hello :) I'm a newbie here, on this forum, but not to turtles/tortoises, and I am planning to get into box turtles sometime relatively soon. I am working on planning their outdoor enclosure and had a couple of questions :)

For those of you who have built outdoor enclosures for your boxies:
1) Did you use some sort of barrier to keep them from digging under the wall? If so, what have you found works best?
-I have used this (link below) under my tortoise enclosure and it seems to work ok
http://www.lowes.com/pd_157764-1311...rentURL=/pl__0__s?Ntt=chicken+wire&facetInfo=
- Would landscaping fabric be strong enough? Something like this (with a 20 year warranty)
http://www.lowes.com/pd_119019-2313...tt=landscaping+fabric&facetInfo=#BVRRWidgetID

2)How tall do you feel is a safe height? Does this number take substrate into account?

3) How many inches of substrate do you like to give them?

3) How many sq. ft. per turtle, do you like to have?

Thanks so much for your help!!
Rachel

yagyujubei

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Amish Country
I have easterns.
1)I have no barrier to prevent them from digging out, but haven't had any attempts in two years.(I am always looking for digging during egg season)I think it would take several days to tunnel out.
2)Box turtles can climb quite well. I would recommend a smooth vertical surface about 16"
3)My substrate is the ground
4)I have about 20 sq ft per.
You have to be careful with inside corners as far as climbing goes. You want some sort of water feature pond or waterfall. There are a few really fantastic enclosures by other people, browse the box turtle threads and you can get ideas. Remember, bigger is better.

I should add though, that eventhough I don't have an anti-dig barrier, doesn't mean I don't think that it's a good idea.

Turtle Guru

5 Year Member
WV