5 year old leopard sex

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffbens0n

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Glenmoore, PA
I have been sure that this was a male for the last several years, but being that he is now almost 12 inches SCL and 5 years old this spring, I am now questioning that. The anal scutes definitely look male, but the tail really looks female. No concavity to the plastron in case you can't see from the pictures.

So lets hear some opinions on this:

85876a40.jpg

0f479368.jpg

a3f50220.jpg

cd6221f6.jpg

7c447afa.jpg

dfe6dfa7.jpg

35629b86.jpg

2ae25f0e.jpg

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
You know my opinion.

Odd things on this tortoise. Now that I can see it close up...the supracaudal scute is starting to curve like you would see on a male. The anal scutes are all wrong for a female. But the tail...there's no way that's a male's tail...so I am sticking with female.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I am not good at these things at all. But I guess "hermaphrodite" :p :D. Sorry, I just had to:D

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
wellington said:
I am not good at these things at all. But I guess "hermaphrodite" :p :D. Sorry, I just had to:D

taking the easy way out eh? thats funny. After so many years of seeing hundreds of torts come through my facilities it gets easier over time. However it can get very pondering at times. Sometimes with even huge sulcatas.

JeffG

5 Year Member
Arizona
I am FAR from competent at sexing tortoises, but from comparing it to my leopards, I would agree with the others. The anal scutes look very male, while the tail looks very female.

In my very limited experience though, a very obvious looking tail is generally a more accurate indicator of gender than very obvious looking anal scutes. Because of that I think it is more likely that this is a female.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona