substrate moisture

Kaska

I'm new to this and getting my first tortoise. From what I understand I need to keep the underneath of the substrate moist for humidity but not the top. How do you do that? If I mist, that is only going to get the top layer.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
What species?
What size tortoise?
What size enclosure?
What substrate?
Open or closed top?

Generally speaking spraying the enclosure is ineffective. You'll need to dump water into the substrate to keep it damp. How much water and how often depends on many variables, and is different for everyone.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
If this is for a Redfoot. Pour warm water into the corners. You will have to do trial and error to see how much is too much or too little.

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
A very warm welcome to the forum!

Please read the "Beginners Mistakes" Thread, and keep asking questions when in doubt.

Do not forget to post pics of your tort and his/her enclosure once you get him/her.

Kaska

What species?
What size tortoise?
What size enclosure?
What substrate?
Open or closed top?

Generally speaking spraying the enclosure is ineffective. You'll need to dump water into the substrate to keep it damp. How much water and how often depends on many variables, and is different for everyone.

It is for a 2yr old redfoot, approx 5 inches. I am using orchid bark for the substrate. It is going to first be in a temporary enclosure of a 20gal Long tank with a screen lid because the turtle box is not yet ready. That is going to be about 5ft by 3 ft, I think, open top. I've been looking at designs and am building a custom box enclosure.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield