Will travelling once a month stress out a tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

cm2445

5 Year Member
My partner has wanted a tortoise for the past few years and I was thinking of buying him a vivarium for his birthday so he can finally get round to owning one. Unfortunately we are having to live apart at the moment due to work but we are planning on moving in together in the next year or so as soon as we can get work in the same place.

We only live 2 hours apart by car and he visits me about once a month for a few days or so and he is reluctant to get a tortoise as he's not sure it would be able to travel. The consensus seems to be that tortoises can travel so long as they have the right container and precautions are taken with heat etc. but I'm a bit of a newbie to all this and wouldn't want to be cruel and cause unecessary stress to the tortoise.

Would the species type make a difference? He had been looking at Horsefield or Herman tortoises as they seem to be the most suited to the cooler UK temperatures.

Thanks guys.

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southwest Washington
With the appropriate travel container and set up in your place, a tortoise should do well. They tend to just go to sleep in the container. I certainly would not let once a month travel prevent me from getting a tortoise.

What kind of tortoise is he considering? That will affect advice regarding enclosure (tortoise table vs vivarium), etc. Depending on where you live, most tortoises thrive if they can be in an outside enclosure for at least part of the year, even part of the day.

Make sure your partner reviews the species specific sections for information about different tortoises and their care. That can help in the decision process about which tort to get.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA