Why does she look so different?

Status
Not open for further replies.

matt41gb

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arlington TX.
I've always wondered why this female looks so different than the rest. Her carapace is very domed, unlike any of my others. She is also very thick and heavy. I know there isn't anything wrong with her or anything. I believe she's a Northern red-foot, but just looks so much different. Anyone else have one that resembles her?

100_2512.jpg

100_2489.jpg

100_2325.jpg

100_1622.jpg

100_1623.jpg

-Matt

PeanutbuttER

5 Year Member
Utah
She looks very pretty. I'm having trouble seeing the extra high dome on her. I'm no expert, but it doesn't look extra domed. Could you put up a side by side comparison picture of her with another one of your redfoots?

matt41gb

5 Year Member
Arlington TX.
PeanutbuttER said:
She looks very pretty. I'm having trouble seeing the extra high dome on her. I'm no expert, but it doesn't look extra domed. Could you put up a side by side comparison picture of her with another one of your redfoots?

Certainly, PeanutbuttER.

This is Rose, Kiwi is the red-foot in question. Rose is very long and shaped like a loaf of bread, while Kiwi is very domed.

Rose
100_2397.jpg

100_2388.jpg

Bird's eye view of Kiwi's and Rose's carapace. Kiwi on right and Rose on left.
100_1093.jpg

Here is the best side by side picture I have of them so far.
100_1385.jpg

-Matt

N2TORTS

5 Year Member
Matt nice torts! .... Just a view and my thoughts ...
1st ,,, the reason possible for all females of any tort species to have a more " dome like" carapace would perhaps to " have room"for holding eggs. Space is need to squish organs around while eggs develope.
2nd. your two mature females well...thats easy its two different " types" of redfoots. besides the fact the larger beefy one is much older.