Pebbles' Food

Status
Not open for further replies.

calialli

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern California
Hi all,
I'm very very new to the whole tortoise keeping deal, and I've had my little Pebbles about two months now(she's a red foot). I've read SO many different things about what to feed her, and I've been to a few different reptile stores that are all telling me different things. I'm confused, and really just want to give Pebbles the best food.

So I feed her:
3-4 Mazuri pellets per day (sometimes she eats them all, sometimes she only eats 2)
4-5 "protein" pellets (I bought them at a reptile store called The Serpentarium, and they feed it to their red foots, although I'm not sure what brand it is)
Leafy green vegetables: Green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, collard greens, mustard greens, kale
Dandelions
She only gets vegetables with the greens mix and Mazuri and protein pellets every other day (I haven't experimented much with the veggies):
Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Cactus pads, Carrots, Red bell pepper
Fruit I give her very sparingly and haven't tried much:
Apple, blueberries, banana

I calcium dust her food (with D3) once a week.
I used to give her a boiled egg each week until The Serpentarium told me that I could just give her the protein pellets everyday instead, so she hasn't had a boiled egg in about 3 weeks.

Is this an ok diet for her? What else can I give her?
I try to keep her fruits and veggies seasonal and organic, which is proving to be quite the challenge!

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I only see that there may be too much protein being offered...and I think this based on you offering mazuri every day along with what you are referring to as protein pellets every day....that just seems like alot of protein every day....maybe some of the others will offer up their opinion on this as well...