Which turtle makes a better community turtle?

SoftshellSean

Hello my name is SoftshellSean some things to know about me are I am a reptile hobbyist so far my collection mostly consists of amphibians like frogs,toads and salamanders I may not have turtles now but I used help take care of them at my cousins house he had red ear sliders and african sidenecked turtles together in a pretty large aquarium it was between 300-400 gallons with custom filtration he sold the turtles though a while back to someone with a large turtle pond so they are happy now. Also I used to help clean out the aquarium and feed the turtles so I do have some experience. So what turtle do you think would make a better community turtle to keep with red ear sliders and african side necked turtles in general the pink side neck turtle/emydura subglobosa or the new guinea snapping turtle/elseya novaeguineae which one would be a better choice and how aggressive are each one on a scale of 1 to 10?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
This is mostly a tortoise forum. Most of us have limited turtle experience. You will probably need to go to the "Turtles" sub forum, read a bit to decide who the most knowledgable people there are and then send a private message to them. Or do a forum post and use the @ symbol in front of their user name to bring your question to their attention.

Wish I could be more help.

Ask me anything you want to know about sulcatas, leopards, russians, pancakes, stars, desert tortoises...

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California