what type of wood to use as a permanent spider enclosure?

Status
Not open for further replies.

moswen

5 Year Member
hello everyone! i just got off the phone with my dad, who is a carpenter by profession, and i do believe he was unaware that i'm not as wisened or experienced as he is when it comes to "wood lingo" so i'm currently very confused... he kept talking about marine wood and bad oils and plywood... i don't even know what "marine" wood is! and i really don't think plywood is my best option here. anyways he ended up telling me that birch wood would be fine and i'd just have to re-make it in a few years.

as you all know, of all the 100 years that my spiders are going to live i don't want to keep re-constructing their PERMANENT home "every few years"!

TERRY i'd especially love your input here!:

i need to know what type of wood to build my permanent spider tortoise enclosure out of. i like the size i currently have for my spiders, it will probably be 3'x4' or maybe 3'x5' because eventually i want to have a spider colony. i plan on putting a finish on the wood to help it be more water proof and i know that i will have to wait a while to let the bad fumes out before i put it together. i'll also be getting a mister, and using wood for the top, bottom, and sides, with the front panel being plexiglass so that i can see into their little home. i'll have live plants as well. so it will be humid in there a LOT of the time, wet even at times.... what type of wood can stand up against that?

should i leave some open spaces in the lid or sides for air circulation?

what type of legs and what type of support system would anyone suggest?

terry i'm envisioning your box turtle's enclosures with a few "spider tortoise" changes as my ideal permanent enclosure, so that's why i'd love to hear all about yours!

okay experts: go!

zzzdanz

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Boston