What is Scooter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki2x2

5 Year Member
Ok, so after joining the group, and realizing it is not so easy to identify and sex tortoises, I wonder if my Scooter is really what I was told he was! I got him from a friend, who got him from a friend, who got him from a reptile show, so who knows? I was told he was a Russian male, adult. I took some pics, anyone want to confirm or deny that? Also captive bred or wild caught? Any ideas?

Thanks!

Vicki

Attachments

• DSC_0269.JPG
    DSC_0269.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 68
  • DSC_0268.JPG
    DSC_0268.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 41
  • DSC_0272.JPG
    DSC_0272.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 29
  • DSC_0273.JPG
    DSC_0273.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC_0276.JPG
    DSC_0276.JPG
    857.7 KB · Views: 31

cherylim

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Leyland, UK
I'd say he's exactly what you've been told.

I would also guess wild caught, but I'm no expert.

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Russian for sure, don't know if its captive bred or wild caught..

bubbles01

5 Year Member
Corfu, Greece
I have no idea, I'm def not an expert! Just wanted to say that Scooter is a really cool name for a tortoise!

Vicki2x2

5 Year Member
Thank you all so far, thank you bubbles01, that was my kids' idea and well, it was too cute to pass up!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Russian male, I am gonna disagree with the captive born diagnosis, looks wild caught to me, where did you get him from?

Vicki2x2

5 Year Member
I got him from a friend, whose friend got him for him from a reptile show. So, after passing thru that many hands, I didn't get a lot of background. The original friend wasn't a tort person, but a snake person, so he didn't ask many questions, just knew his friend liked torts. Unfortunately his gf wasn't pleased, so when I expressed interested, he agreed to sell him to me to make everyone happy.

Clear as mud??? LOL

Talka

Tortoise Club