What is Killer doing?

HJ1983

Location (City and/or State)
New York City
He has been scratching at the corner of his enclosure for over an hour. I feel he's lacking something but not sure what. He's left marks on the wood. I took a video but I can't post it here so here are a few screenshots of it. I'm very new to this I've only had him a few days and this is the first time he's done this. ImageUploadedByTortForum1393801813.601820.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1393801827.516263.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

HerpMS

5 Year Member
Orlando, FL.
Is his enclosure big enough? My Russian used to do that when I first got him because he didn't have enough room to roam around, but he stopped one I made him a bigger house. I also added more "obstacles" in his house so he would have more to concentrate on while he moved around.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Russians in the wild cover a very large area of land, very large. Even though they are small, they do need a big enclosure. Can you add onto the enclosure or maybe even add some more obstacles like mentioned above. He may be happy with enough substrate to bury himself, if you don't already have it deep enough.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Killer is telling you that he needs a much larger enclosure. I like 3x6' as a minimum, but 4x8 is better. Even bigger outdoors. Much bigger.

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA
What I learn here is, in the world of Tortoise enclosure, Bigger; diffidently better.

HJ1983

New York City