What do you guys think about this supplement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I've used that for many years. It works. Lately I haven't been using much vitamin supplementation at all though.

Jacob

5 Year Member
California
I Haven't used that product before.
I am familiar with zoomed calcium and cuddle-bone tho.

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
I have not had a good experience recently with a ZooMed calcium product. I have no experience with this exact product. But not ALL supplements are created equal! As many know, we have to house our animals indoors much of the year. In the past we have always used Rep-Cal calcium with D3. Last fall we switched to ZooMed's calcium with D3. It had devastating effects. What we learned was ZooMed's calcium with D3 has 20 times, YES 20 times LESS vitamin D3 than Rep-Cal. Needless to say, I am not pleased with ZooMed and am boycotting their products! It was my mistake for overlooking this minor detail, but I am irritated that they made something so inferior.

Madkins007

10 Year Member!
Nebraska
You'll get the best value and quality by crushing human multivitamin tablets and offering a bit of it.

Also, there is not a lot of research that supports the idea that vitamin D supplements completely replace the need for UVB, and if you DO offer D supplements, the liquid/oil versions are more potent than the powdered. http://www.puritan.com/vitamin-d-326/liquid-vitamin-d-3-5000-iu-030405

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
I use absolutely no vitamin supplements whatsoever and only offer calcium as a "side dish", not coated on their food. For the most part my tortoises are outdoors 6 months out of the year and indoors the rest of the time. I've doing so for 25 over 25 years and this is a few examples of what I've raised from hatchlings:

DSC02120.jpg

DSC02122.jpg

DSC00723.jpg

YellowIbera-1.jpg