Weeds

THEADEMARCO

Location (City and/or State)
London
I got my tortoise last week and so far he's been fed on store bought food and a couple flowers,but i think i need to start foraging for weeds! Its october so obviously not the bet time of year but I still want to try. I'm just COMPLETELY unsure of where to go and what to look for. Any advice?

SuzanneZ

Georgetown
That's very much to my east. Across the Atlantic to my east. I asked to see if I knew any tortoise weeds in your climate. I do not. However your climate is almost as humid as mine. You might have wild turnips and mustard most of the year.

A good librarian can help with locating weed references. Be a little wary of Internet info, except on this forum.

I am a novice tortoise keeper, but I've raised other weed-loving animals.

Alex and the Redfoot

Cyprus
I got my tortoise last week and so far he's been fed on store bought food and a couple flowers,but i think i need to start foraging for weeds! Its october so obviously not the bet time of year but I still want to try. I'm just COMPLETELY unsure of where to go and what to look for. Any advice?
Just some general ideas:
1. Perhaps you can search similar topics in Plant identification section of the forum. There are many members from UK here and they asked similar questions.
2. You can look at TortoiseTable web site or smartphone application, select some weed and flowers which marked safe to eat, then refine the list to get plants native to UK (or at least those you've heard about). Then look around your garden, neighbours garden or just outside if you see something similar. TortoiseTable is an UK website, they might have a list of edible plants available in UK - take a look there, I'm not sure.
3. Just roam around with any plant identification app and take photos. Then check your findings against TortoiseTable and when in doubt - make a post in corresponding forum section.