Vomit

Kingkeeper

Location (City and/or State)
Philadelphia
Hello everyone, my red foot has been with me for about 3 weeks now I am not sur it’s age he is about 4 inches. He will eat at times if I put him in front of the food but seems to be very picky. I am having trouble getting him to really want the greens. Yesterday he devoured a baby carrot cut up for him and today I can in to a pile of carrot regurgitated. There was no bile he is pooping but it is a little soft I believe it’s the lack of fiber in the greens. Please help with any info I am new to toartises.

Cherryshell

Manassas Virginia
Give this caresheet a read, it'll give you an idea of what kind of food you can give RFs. Can you show us some pictures of the enclosure and tort? Also what are your temps and humidity levels in the enclosure?

Jan A

Boulder, CO
Hello everyone, my red foot has been with me for about 3 weeks now I am not sur it’s age he is about 4 inches. He will eat at times if I put him in front of the food but seems to be very picky. I am having trouble getting him to really want the greens. Yesterday he devoured a baby carrot cut up for him and today I can in to a pile of carrot regurgitated. There was no bile he is pooping but it is a little soft I believe it’s the lack of fiber in the greens. Please help with any info I am new to toartises.
As you're finding out, carrots are not a great food at this stage for your tort. They just bite off, they don't chew. The care sheet should help explain. I"ll leave it up to the experts to advise you further. Welcome to the forum!!

ZenHerper

New Jersey
A Redfoot should be able to manage a carrot.

Your habitat temps may be too low. If a tortoise gets too cold, it will stop digesting, and not be interested in food. Redfoots are heavy eaters, when healthy.

Regurgitation is quite concerning.

Please review the care information here:

@Toddrickfl1 @ZEROPILOT @jsheffield

Kingkeeper

Philadelphia
A Redfoot should be able to manage a carrot.