Sulcata or Leopard?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Morwen13

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Great Falls, MT
I am new to all of this, but my husband and I have decided to buy our first tortoise. We have been discussing and researching tortoises for about 6 months and have narrowed it down to either a Sulcata or a Leopard tortoise.

We know the basics and want a large tortoise, but I am wondering if there is anything we need to consider in terms of personality, care, etc. that is different between the two. The pet store we have checked out gets fairly young torts and I have been told that Leopards can be more finicky and difficult to raise when very small. Is this true? Or are they both similar? Any help is welcome.

Marion

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
It does seem more troubles happen with hatchling Leopards compared to the sulcata. The Leopards also seem to not be as outgoing and personable on the average. Of course they get bigger and stronger and can be more destructive (or maybe more willfull would be a better term) then the Leopards. My vote, if you have the room, is to go with the sulcata.

Have you actually gotten to visit and spend some time around an adult sulcata? I would also recommend doing that before you get one. Seeing one in real life can open your eyes to a few things you might not have thought about, realized, or fully appreciated from just reading and seeing pictures.

It's great hearing your studying them first, especially when thinking of either one of these larger fellows.

Greg T

10 Year Member!
League City, TX
I think both are great torts to have. Leopards may be a bit more shy, but once they know you they are very personable also. I haven't heard of leopards being more difficult to raise than a sulcata. Mine have been very easy to raise so far.