Star Torts Humidity/Enclosure Topic

Status
Not open for further replies.

TortoiseRN

5 Year Member
Hey guys and gals any opinions/personal experiences people want to share about humidity levels they keep for their torts and how they fluctuate throughout the seasons. Or pics/descriptions of enclosures you want to share are all welcome too. Just tryin to get a little discussion started in our little Star community.

Thanks for layin down those funky beets!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Not enough experience to comment, but I will read with interest.

shanu303

5 Year Member
India
i have adult star already fully grown 8+ inches so i don't provide any external humidity, just the natural humidity in india.....i have him in outdoor enclosure.....and to keep the hydration... i soak him twice a day for 10-15 minutes and spray or wet shell several times a day in summers....well i'm not experienced with hatchlings or juveniles i am not really sure about there humidity requirements.... but i can say that they do require humidity but not as much as the red foots or such species.....

TortoiseRN

5 Year Member
Thanks for sharing Shanu. How old was your tort when you got him/her and does he have much pyramiding?

1.0 Sulcata
1.0 Russian
2.0 Sri Lankan Star
1.0 African Side Neck
1.0 Yellow Bellied Slider
1.0 Ferret
2.0 Cats

shanu303

5 Year Member
India
it has not been long since i got him....... couple of month with the new one and almost a year with the old..... actually i haven't raised them from hatchling ... i got them from some friend of my relatives who weren't able to take care properly..... they both are 8-10 years old.... and first one max has slightly more pyramiding compared to Ben who has almost smooth shell.... they both are wild specimens......

AnnV

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
SWFL