Soaking Sulcata Tortoise hatchlings?

Status
Not open for further replies.

badkitty

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Cecilia, Kentucky
The more I read the more confused I get on this subject.
I was told to soak the Sulcata hatchlings everyday for 15 mins in warm water, but I came across this web page and they are totally against it.
http://ojaisulcataproject.org/juveniles.html

The post states :
"What does happen frequently is that the animal defecates in the water when soaking. If this happens several times a day or several times a week, you are interfering with the animal’s natural digestive transit time. "
"Soaking is an unnatural, artificial solution to an unnatural, artificial problem caused by unnatural, artificial husbandry and habitat! In fact, this may well be a contributing factor to pyramiding."
Very harsh words but I'm very new to this.
Should I continue to soak them? I would really love to hear back from experienced tortoise keepers.
Thanks Grace

Glasswalker

5 Year Member
Pittsburgh
Yeah you definitely want a second opinion on that. I'm fairly new to this too, and even I'm not impressed by this guy's "My way is the only way" attitude.

HtVic

5 Year Member
I dont agree with all that.
to me, this looks like how the wild tortoises would be, not for the torts that keep indoor, captive-bred
for some points, this website mentioned many times of how tortoise live in the wild world
so about 90% of content I disagree with

ALDABRAMAN

KEEPER AT HEART
10 Year Member!
SW Forida
We soak our aldabra hatchlings for at least the first thirty days in warm water twice a day for about 15 minutes or so.

mslhjl.jpg

HtVic

5 Year Member
ALDABRAMAN said:
We soak our aldabra hatchlings for at least the first thirty days in warm water twice a day for about 15 minutes or so.

mslhjl.jpg

what about after the first thirty days?

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Mesa, AZ