Should I give up my tortoise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mstodd

5 Year Member
Hey everyone,

I am trying to decide what to do about my situation. If you could please read below and tell me what you think, I would really appreciate any advice.
Some details:

I used to live in the northernmost part of Michigan. In February, some people vacated their apartment and left a tortoise (my cute little George) in a small box. No one wanted to take him home, so I did. I spent hours reading up on tortoises and found this forum. After I graduated, George and I moved to Northern Virginia. The weather here is great, so for the first time since I got him I was able to take him outside. I let him go out every day for about 15 minutes.

The problem is that he really should be out all the time. Instead, he sits inside all day except for the times I take him out. I've read so many times about people saying tortoises should be outdoors, but that isn't a viable option for me. I am staying in someone's basement and they have a beautifully kept yard, they do not want a tortoise enclosure on it.

Another thing is that I am new to this area and I am having a very hard time finding housing. I'm staying with a friend just for summer but need to move out by September. If any of you are familiar with the DC area, apartments are very expensive. Most ads within my price range do not allow pets. Regardless of the next place I move to, I'm sure the owners will not want me building something in their yard. So he would still be stuck inside.

I'm torn about whether I should keep him. On one hand, I am very attached to him and feel genuine heartache when I think about giving him up. On the other, I feel that he deserves to live someplace where he can be outside and happy.