Redfoot Whistling

Pinky

Location (City and/or State)
Henrietta, NY
We've had Redfoot tortoises for nearly 18 years and this is my first time on a forum. Our 19 yr. old female whistles all the time and has done it for years. For example, my wife awoke the other day and heard a loud whistling coming from our indoor tortoise enclosure. She found that both girls had become uncovered during the night and Penny was getting her attention to have their blankets repositioned. They sleep on an undertank heater and, in the winter, are covered up with old towels at bedtime to keep off the draft. She responds with a whistle to let me know where she is when I call her name. Some folks might say that the whistling is due to a respiratory disorder and she should be rushed to a vet, but I can't agree. She's healthy and very active. Anyone else have a whistler? Thanks. Fred

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I hear this a lot about the RF tortoises, so I think it's fairly normal. But I'm concerned with your tortoise's living conditions during the cold weather. They come from a climate where it's mostly warm in the winter, so haven't evolved to know how to deal with cooler temperatures. Since you've had them for 18 years, I'm going to assume they're full grown, but living in a tank? The picture in my mind is a very small enclosure for two full grown RF tortoises. Is there any way you can build them something bigger? Here's a link to a thread that shows what one of our members built:

https://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/heres-dales-new-enclosure-picture-heavy.11023/

MysticCaribou

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sweet Home Chicago