Redfoot tortoise pinkie feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.

turtlelover2495

5 Year Member
Is it normal for a tortoise not to eat a live pinkie the first time right away I well I went to buy a pinkie they didn't have one but he gave me a new born gerbil same size as a pinkie but she doesn't seem to want to eat it! She just stepped on it and walked away. I put it on the dirt and then I put it on her food dish so it doesn't suffocate before she decides if she wants to eat it or not!

stinax182

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Springfield, Massachusetts
I'm no expert and i don't own a red foot, but I'm pretty sure pinkies are not good food. i know red foots have a diet higher in protein than others and that large adults may eat them, but if you have a small tortoise, i wouldn't even offer it because it could be protein overload.

turtlelover2495

5 Year Member
stinax182 said:
I'm no expert and i don't own a red foot, but I'm pretty sure pinkies are not good food. i know red foots have a diet higher in protein than others and that large adults may eat them, but if you have a small tortoise, i wouldn't even offer it because it could be protein overload.

Ok yeah my tortoise is still refusing it. it totally ignores it as if it isn't there!

EricIvins

5 Year Member
stinax182 said:

Pinkies are one of the better ways to give protien to any Tortoise hatchlings.....But, if the Tortoise shows no interest in it initially, chances are it has no interest in it to begin with.......Kill it off, then see if the reaction is different? It may very well be.....

stinax182

5 Year Member