Redfoot questions

David Save

Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, IL
Hi, I'm new to tortoises, but have been readin up on em for the past couple months or so, I'm in my last years of college, and am interested in buying a redfoot tortoise; I'd have a tortoise table for him/her for their first few years, and a larger enclosure as the years go on. I have a couple of pretty basic questions that seem to have multiple answers with every source I've checked, so I am just lookin for some clarification.
1.How big do these guys get? 9-14? 11-16? Varied answers everywhere I look.
2.How early can you tell the gender? I see breeders advertising less than a year old redfoots for sale, and they specify the gender; I didn't know that was possible, but im also a noob
3.How fast do these guys grow? I will upgrade enclosures accordingly, just curious on what the growth will look like, since i do plan on buying babies.

Thats all! Thanks guys so much! Love this community!

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Hi David and welcome.

There are different localities of redfoots that grow to different sizes. Northerns and Brazilians average around 12", occasionally 14 to 16".

Gender identification is really on size not age, around 8" is when you may get some indications, 8" can take around 4yrs.
At 3 yr Lodi have torts between 6 and 8". They all grow at different rates.

All the above are not gospel figures but a good guide line for you.
To sum up, assuming you don't have a Bolivian redfoot(which are giants) I'd work on a full size of 12 to 14" SCL. At 1 yr old mine are around 3 to 4" and at 3yrs 6 to 8" SCL.

BTW you are best with a closed system not an open table. You can't maintain high humidity and ambient temps in an open table. If raised dry your tort will pyramid.

David Save

Chicago, IL
Hi David and welcome.

There are different localities of redfoots that grow to different sizes. Northerns and Brazilians average around 12", occasionally 14 to 16".