Red Foot tortoise temperature control in winter

Status
Not open for further replies.

crush's little helper

5 Year Member
Hello there

I am new to the tortoise owning world and have a baby red foot called crush. He turns 1 Soon Woo hoo !!

Right we have got a tortoise table which basically looks like a bookshelf ( minus the shelves) turned on its back. we have a solar-glo 125w bulb suspended via a "hangmans arm" setup and a mulch flooring with loads of sphagnum moss placed around.

We also have a small ceramic "no light" heater style bulb that emits heat for the night time.

We have given him two terracotta tubs as hides, they are placed on their sides so he can walk into an out of them easily. One in the cooler end and one in his hot end. They are usually stuffed with moss.

Thing is, we are a bit worried as to the following points and so many sets of conflicting information, we wondered if anyone can give us some assistance.

1 - when his moss is damp - to keep the humidity levels up, it turns cold ( even when sprayed with warm water), will this not make him cold when he burrows into it? If we put it under his sun lamp - it dries out quickly, which is the best, leave it wet and potentially cold, or under the lamp to keep warm. - I'm pretty sure i read to keep his moss wet, but it turns cold, even in his hide at the warm end and i'm concerned about him getting cold. Should i be worried or am i just thinking of it from a human point of view too much. I mean, I wouldn't sleep in cold and wet bed, but if it's tortoise heaven than I'm happy, just really concerned about him getting too cold at night. So wet or dry do you think?

2 - Tortoise table is open topped, and we need to keep the heat in especially in this cold weather. Should we be looking to "lid" the tort table with a plastic storage box top or some perspex resting over the most part of the top area or something like that?