Purple (raspberry like) growth on bottom of Baby Sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

namdsibor

5 Year Member
There is a purple (raspberry like) growth on bottom of my Baby Sulcata Tortoise I just received. Does anyone have any idea what this could be? Is it a growth, or is it something that is on all newborns and falls off?

Thanks,
Rob

Attachments

• 0720011445.jpg
    0720011445.jpg
    204.9 KB · Views: 117

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
yes that's what it looks like.

It doesn't look like it absorbed completely. I'm new at the newborn stuff. But I probably wouldn't put it on any substrate (bedding). Maybe moist paper towels instead.

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Southern California
namdsibor said:
What is a yolk sack?

It's what is attached to the baby while inside of the egg like an umbilical cord. It has to be absorbed completely before the baby is removed from the incubator or other moist warm area.

namdsibor

5 Year Member
Right now I just have the substrate as newspaper on the very bottom with a good bit of orchard hay/grass on top.

Is that okay? Should I avoid dirt? (I was wondering the reason you suggested moist paper towels.)

Fernando said:

It doesn't look like it absorbed completely. I'm new at the newborn stuff. But I probably wouldn't put it on any substrate (bedding). Maybe moist paper towels instead.

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Southern California
namdsibor said:
Right now I just have the substrate as newspaper on the very bottom with a good bit of orchard hay/grass on top.

Is that okay? Should I avoid dirt? (I was wondering the reason you suggested moist paper towels.)

Fernando said:

I'd be afraid of keeping the hay stuff because it's too dry and you'd also run the risk of infecting that area. Who did you get this tortoise from? Did you purchase from a pet store? Usually a pet store or any other breeder will wait at least a week before they sell a baby like that.