Possible CA Desert Tortoise?

BDugnutt

Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I was looking through some Animal Control postings and happened upon this tortoise. (I apologize for the small picture. It was what was provided on the listing.)

I'm a newbie when it comes down to it, but it is possible that this is a male CA Desert Tortoise?

I know that Desert Tortoises are both considered threatened at the state and federal level and also require permits to possess. I am concerned that the folks at the Animal Control office might not necessarily know what they have and could possibly be sending this critter off to someone who can pay the fees.

I am considering contacting the local Turtle and Tortoise Club, who handles adoptions and permit registrations for CA DTs, about this animal. Any advice as to how to proceed?

Attachments

• Tortoise.png
    Tortoise.png
    20.4 KB · Views: 4

zovick

10 Year Member!
I should add that the listing says that it's been at that center for about a month now, past the lost pet hold window.
It might well be a Desert Tortoise, but I cannot clearly see whether or not it has a nuchal scute in that photo. It appears that it does, but I cannot be certain. If it does have that scute, it is a Desert Tortoise. If not, it is likely a sulcata also known as the African Spurred Tortoise.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I was looking through some Animal Control postings and happened upon this tortoise. (I apologize for the small picture. It was what was provided on the listing.)

I'm a newbie when it comes down to it, but it is possible that this is a male CA Desert Tortoise?

I know that Desert Tortoises are both considered threatened at the state and federal level and also require permits to possess. I am concerned that the folks at the Animal Control office might not necessarily know what they have and could possibly be sending this critter off to someone who can pay the fees.