Please help. (black spot on leg)

gomeznevis

Location (City and/or State)
Davenport
I am new to the tortoise world this little cutie showed up at our doorstep thinking it was an acorn we almost threw it out until it moved we have taken it in but few days down the road we found that it had this black mark on its leg can anybody shed some light help us out on what we should do any advice is greatly appreciated or at least point us in the right direction
Thank you very much in advance for your help

Attachments

• 20231220_192644.jpg
    20231220_192644.jpg
    620.2 KB · Views: 2
  • 20231220_192711.jpg
    20231220_192711.jpg
    293 KB · Views: 3
  • 20231220_192726.jpg
    20231220_192726.jpg
    570.8 KB · Views: 3

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
@Tom or @Yvonne G should be able to help you. What is the temperature and lighting for the enclosure?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Can't tell by the pic what the black is
Can he walk okay?
Where are you located? I only know of Davenport Iowa.
How are you keeping him now? He needs to stay warm, at least 80F with basking of 95-100 and a uvb tube fluorescent.
I'm not sure if it's species.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I am new to the tortoise world this little cutie showed up at our doorstep thinking it was an acorn we almost threw it out until it moved we have taken it in but few days down the road we found that it had this black mark on its leg can anybody shed some light help us out on what we should do any advice is greatly appreciated or at least point us in the right direction
Thank you very much in advance for your help
Looks like an injury from a cat bite or possible an infected spider bite with necrosis. I'd take him to a vet for that part.

Here is the correct care info:

gomeznevis

Davenport
Can't tell by the pic what the black is
Can he walk okay?