Pics of Remi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rochellec

5 Year Member
Hi all I'm a new tortoise owner for the past two weeks. I have finally worked out how to upload pic so her they are of my lovely little Remi.

I measured her today and she was 8cm long which is about 3.2 inches. Can anyone confirm what type of Herman she is please and I say she but it could be a he. However having looked at all the chats on that point I think she's a girl but I will upload pics of that in due course.

http://s1170.photobucket.com/albums/r536/Rochellec5/.

Have a look and let me know what you guys and girls think all views and opinions welcome.

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
For photobucket, if you use the IMG code you can post the individual photos here.

I am no expert but your tortoise does not appear to be a Hermanns, also that is not the best substrate to use, molds very easily when it get wet....

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Welcome to the Forum :D and Remind is adorable...although I would guess Remind the Russian would be more my guess....:D

I am totally with Dmarcus ...the pellets should be replaced straight away...regular yard dirt (free of fertilizer and pesticides/herbicides ) would be so much better than the rabbit pellets....they kinda say what they are designed for :p

I personally like coco coir or the finely processed peat moss (not the stringy kind) for substrate....organic soil is good as well....

Wait around a bit to get input from the others....I am not the best at id'g so see what the others think....:D

l0velesly

10 Year Member!
Lynnwood, WA
I agree, she looks like a Russian tortoise, not a Hermanns. Changing the substrate would also be a good idea.

Eweezyfosheezy

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
It looks like you have a russian tortoise not a hermanns tortoise. And I would take the advice of the others that posted and change the substrate.

Rochellec

5 Year Member
Thanks guys.