Not eating?

Tanner Fry

Location (City and/or State)
Michigan, United States
I got a female Russian tortoise on the 29th of September and she has not eaten upon her arrival to my house. I have layer out organic lettuce, apple slices,one dandelion flower, and the pellets soaked in water that the store fed them. Should I be concerned that she has not eaten and if so what should I do and what should I feed her? I am picking up some baby carrots from the store tomorrow. She has a 40 gallon tank with elevation and a sizeable water bowl deep enough for her to soak herself. She also has a food bowl with fresh apples and moist but not wet pellets. And the ground is dirt deep enough to burrow and get all over the place ( she likes to put as much dirt as possible into her water bowl) and the temperature is 90 degrees Fahrenheit and there is a log with a heat pad underneath the dirt under the log. The cool side is about 73 degrees Fahrenheit and the warm side is 90. I'm new to this Russian tortoise thing so I am getting concerned about her not eating. Any suggestions?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
A lot of Russians ware slowing down right now. Then with yours being in a new home and the normal fall slowing, I wouldn't worry right now and give her time to settle in. She needs a better diet and no apples. Give her a nice warm soak daily until she does get comfortable and check out the caresheets for Russians. There should also be a diet/food thread for them under the Russian section.

Tanner Fry

Michigan, United States
A lot of Russians ware slowing down right now. Then with yours being in a new home and the normal fall slowing, I wouldn't worry right now and give her time to settle in. She needs a better diet and no apples. Give her a nice warm soak daily until she does get comfortable and check out the caresheets for Russians. There should also be a diet/food thread for them under the Russian section.
Ok will do thanks for the advice

King