Newbie here, and trying to do right by my little Doris

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doris

5 Year Member
I live in dubai, and am wondering about keeping my baby sulcata outside all the time. It gets hot here real hot, in the summer, and I have been bringing her inside so she doesn't cook in her shell. We keep the house at 24 degrees Celsius. Is that warm enough for her? Or is she really better outside? ImageUploadedByTortForum1371981956.137283.jpg and this is her outside homeImageUploadedByTortForum1371982042.540974.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1371982121.374342.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1371982201.586880.jpg the temperatures here in the summer can average about 40 Celsius outside. So many other questions, but thought I would start with that one :)

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:) Read Toms threads below on raising Sullies. Your baby should get outside for 30-60 minutes a day, making sure it has enough shade and water a available. The sand you have in the enclosure should be replaced. Sand can cause impaction. If you can get coconut coir or cypress mulch, that would be better. If not, mix the sand with plain dirt. 80% dirt to 20% sand. Also provide water 24/7 and soak in warm water daily for 30 minutes. An 80% humidity is needed with temps so lower then 80 and a basking spot of 95-100.

Doris

5 Year Member
So in your opinion, the little blue dish is not enough for a little pool for her? I should get a bigger one? And yeah, I finally read the care sheet, and realized sand was the worst. So glad I found this site, cause I think she is too dry based on what I have read. The humidity outside is pretty high, but it's only 60% humidity today, so betting that it isn't enough on a daily basis.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA