New to Tortoises

Status
Not open for further replies.

LynnR

5 Year Member
Hello, All,

I'm new to tortoises, in fact I've signed on to find out which tortoise is the best for my area of the country. I live in the deep South, in the USA and we have mega high humidity. I really like the leopard tortoises, they're my favorite. :eek:) BUT I'm open to suggestion.
Thanks for any advise!

LynnR

5 Year Member
I live right outside of Charlotte, NC. <G> Thanks for the welcome. I've always wanted a tortoise, but while I've kept snakes and lizards for years, I've always wanted a tortoise. We run across box turtles on our property fairly often but I leave the wild ones in the wild. We have a great 'garden yard' for a tortoise to 'roam' around in. (Supervised, of course.) But as I've said, I have no idea what kind of tortoise would thrive here. Any suggestions anyone?

Missy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Illinois
Welcome, I am 2yrs new to torts you never stop learning about these beautiful creatures. I love Leopards to and would love a couple someday. How much room do you have for your future tort?? That will play a big part in the one that is right for you. Your climate is good we are finding out that humidity is good for torts. You will find good info here and you will love it. Are you going to check out different rescues for your tort? When I am ready for another that is my plan.

LynnR

5 Year Member
Well, our garden yard is probably 50' by 50' so I can pretty much house whatever I'd want. I don't know of any rescues around here but I haven't had an opportunity to check either. :eek:)

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Colorado
You lucky!

I hate humidity and would never voluntarily move back to the South due to that climate, BUT in terms of tortoise keeping, you have struck gold! You could even keep a Sulcata! You could keep multiple tortoises. You could keep turtles. Oh, the choices you have! *SIGH* :rolleyes: